Posted in Art, The Future Is My Past

The Future Is My Past Story Art

So, when I can’t write, or I’m stuck (or bored, or watching tv, or avoiding answering emails, or…) I often play with making artwork for my stories. Sometimes this is simple banner art but other times I make articles or postcards or use background that I’ve made for a story but not actually included.

I’m also a very visual person, and I often go looking to images to influence my writing. Sometimes I find an image that inspires something new, or makes me add a character or a scene. It takes a lot of time, but I enjoy it (and yes, I used to cut magazine images out and make collages when I was a teenager; now I spend ten hours at a time on Pinterest) and I do get comments on my descriptions, so I don’t think it takes away from my writing.

Yes, I do write articles and letters between characters; sometimes these are actually part of a story, like in Future’s Past, where I used articles to so a progression of time and the relationships between characters. Other times, I write them as part of my world building, like in the article about Castle Ravensmoor below.

I will add to these in the future, and link to here in future stories.

hidden-hebrides-travel-ad
The Hidden Hebrides; 6 islands between the Inner and Outer Hebrides that have been hidden since long before the Statute of Secrecy.
haven-manor
Haven Manor, Fara Island, Hidden Hebrides, Scotland. The residence of the Baroness of Fara.
hairstyles
A sample of Ophelia Manus Black’s hairstyles; largely possible only by magic because if not for spells, Ophelia would probably chop it all off and to hell with it not even dying and going back in the past lets her escape the Potter hair.

Castle of Ravensmoor is the main seat of the House of Black and the residence of the Duke of Ravensmoor. This ancient castle has been added to, renovated, and updated since the time of Arthur and is considered to be one of the great examples of magical architecture in Europe.

designmag-coverdesignmag-page-1designmag-page-2designmag-page-3designmag-page-4designmag-page-5designmag-page-6DesignMag Page 7.jpg


Family Trees

black-family-tree
The Main Branch of the House of Black, using the posted Black family tree as a base and changed to suit my petulant whims. I changed and added family members – Dorea Black, for example, is not here because she is part of another branch of the family. I also changed a lot of dates to match my timeline, and the illustrate the potential lifespan of wixen and also to make sure no one was having children at age twelve.
manus-family
The Main Branch of the Manus Family and Ophelia’s immediate kin. Yes, you could take this as a hint that I intend to include some of these people in future works, or you could remember that I am obsessive and overly invested in worldbuilding. Either way, have fun.
Author:

I have spent more time in fandom than in real life in the last decade. I'd offer cookies and a speech about joining the dark side, but if you found me here you've probably drunk the kool-aid already.

3 thoughts on “The Future Is My Past Story Art

Leave a Reply

