Posted in Uncategorized

Evil Author Day (EAD)

Evil Author Day

What is Evil Author Day? Well, it’s a day that authors are evil to readers, and readers say, ‘thank you for making us suffer sweet, sweet agony.’ Basically, it’s the reason we all endure Valentine’s Day.

Evil Author Day (EAD) started as an author tease. Writers would post a list of the titles of stories they were working on or the names of all their WIP files – which is hilarious because writers often label ongoing projects with ridiculous and amusing tags.

(Titles are like synopses – no one likes to write them, and we all struggle to get it right, and prefacing your efforts with a humble brag about how bad you are at this, but ‘this story is awesome; read it anyway’ is just irritating. Yes, FF.Net and AO3, I am looking at you.)

Some authors took votes and posted an excerpt for the most popular title/description. Other authors listed a little about several open projects and asked readers to vote on which one they should work on next.

As per usual in certain circles (<cough> Stargate fandom <cough>), a certain Ms Keira Marcos took the idea, ran a touchdown with it, and had the whole thing renamed and rebranded in her likeness. Keira posted excerpts from an assortment of open stories she had on the go, and – here’s where the evil part comes in – there was absolutely no guarantee that we would ever see anything else in these works.

This bears repeating: there are no guarantees, warranties, or assurances here.  There are no timelines, no promises, and no requests. We (including you, dear reader) don’t get to ask, beg, threaten, or demand that an author returns to any EAD posts. We say thank you and move on. There is also no guarantee that, if an EAD story is completed, the excerpt posted will be included or remain intact.

Fast forward a few years, and EAD has spread throughout AO3 and the Rough Trade community. So, let’s celebrate International Fanworks Day with awesome stuff – and a lack of assholery.

Please Note: None of these stories are done, and they may never be. I intend to only publish them here; none of these will live on AO3. There will be errors as most of them have only basic spellcheck and read-through.

2017

A Woman’s Honour: Aftermath (Naruto) female Kakashi and Naruto
Shifting Currents (NCIS/Criminal Minds) female Tony DiNozzo/Aaron Hotchner
Yesterday’s Tomorrow: Autumn (Harry Potter) The Future is My Past; The Past is my Future Book Two
Heart of Iron & Ice: Arctic Star (MCU/Sentinel Fusion) female Tony Stark/Loki #3 (No, I haven’t even started #2).

There is also a new edition of Future’s Past available, one with images and graphics of documents (letters and articles), and I posted some artwork for the series.

2018

StarTrek Atlantis (Star Trek 2009/Stargate fusion) female Jim Kirk, future Kirk/Bones pairing
Counting the Days (Harry Potter) female Harry Potter/Draco Malfoy
Durin’s Wife (The Hobbit) Bellamira Baggins/Thorin Oakenshield
Stargate: Rising Tides (Stargate/NCIS) female Tony DiNozzo/Ronon Dex

I also posted a new completed story in the NCIS fandom, Bounce Back.

2019

The Raven and the Wolf (Harry Potter/Fairy Tale) Female Harry Potter/Orion Black
First Casualty (NCIS/Harry Potter Fusion) Tony DiNozzo/female Spencer Reid
An Officer and a Lady (NCIS/JAG) female Tony DiNozzo/AJ Chegwidden

2020

The Blue Line (The Sentinel) Jim Ellison/female Blair Sandburg
Tony and JARVIS Break the Internet (MCU) genfic, post Winter Soldier
Black Lace and Bourbon (NCIS/JAG) female Tony DiNozzo/AJ Chegwidden NSFW
Serpentine (Harry Potter) Harry Potter/Draco
Be Bold and Venture To Be Wise (Star Trek 2009) James Kirk/Leonard McCoy

2021

Segreti di famiglia (NCIS/JAG Sentinel fusion) female Tony DiNozzo/AJ Chegwidden
Shadows and Flames (The Hobbit Sentinel fusion) female Legolas/Elrond

2022

Radiance #2: Pale Moon’s Light (The Hobbit) female Legolas/Elrond, female Bilbo/Thorin; Radiance #1: Of Glowing Starlight is here
Harry and Hermione’s 10-Year Plan (to take over the Ministry and get
laid)
 Harry/Draco, Hermione/Daphne Greengrass

2023
Nope. I got nothing. Check back in once my mojo returns or this decade stops kicking my ass. See you next year.

2024

Lightning in a Bottle (Star Trek AOS/The Sentinel) James Kirk/Leonard ‘Bones’ McCoy, Amanda Grayson/Sarek
Family Appearances (NCIS/911) female Anthony DiNozzo/A.J. Chegwidden

Reminder: DO NOT ask me when/where/how I will finish or post these. Yes, I am working on all of them. I am also working on many things – I have dozens of ongoing projects, and the list will keep growing until I find a way to shut off my own brain – and doing things like going to work and getting groceries and doing laundry.

Author:

I have spent more time in fandom than in real life in the last decade. I'd offer cookies and a speech about joining the dark side, but if you found me here you've probably drunk the kool-aid already.

32 thoughts on “Evil Author Day (EAD)

  1. I won’t ask for more, but wow, I REALLY would love more. I love all the posts, they’re great 🙂

  2. Not sure how to spell the noise I made when I saw your EAD post, so I’ll just say thank you 😛

  3. aaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!
    Just read everything all at once and it is all awesome
    Agree with your comments on canon v fanon – we can totally keep loving Aaron for being a reasonable human being.
    Ianthe/Ophelia is too cool and deserves her very own magical sword to smite her enemies (imo)
    Toni and Loki are lovely, and linear time is over-rated anyway. I forget, but did anything interesting happen to Coulson on the way to Thor’s hammer in this universe? 😉
    My absolute favourite though has to be Kakashi being awesome – I love how you’ve just taken the naruto universe and said “holding this to be true, how would it be if…” and then built these 2D shapes into living breathing characters.
    All of your worldbuilding is sublime and I love you for giving these stories to the world

  4. So I just read all of these and squeed like a total fangirl. Can’t wait for more especially the fem!tony/ Aaron hotchner story. Would really love to see how they met. Not that I am trying to tell you what to do or demanding anything.

  5. I love your stories. I realy like Yesterday’s tomorrows. I love the whole series. Hopefuly this will be a story that you will finish. Thank you for the teasers. The world you create with your words is so full of images. I love it.

  6. Ever since I found you on Rough Trade you have become one of my favourite authors, along with Keira Marcos and Jilly James. I absolutely love your stories, your female Harry is amazeing.
    I just have a question. Is The First Casualty ever going to be posted here or in AO3? That story really hoocked me.

  7. Holy #@$&*! That Star Trek/ Stargate fusion is pure genius. Love it!

  8. Love all of your EAD posts – Stargate Rising tides is my favorite – thank you for sharing all of these great projects with us!

  9. Holy Hannah, Rising Tides is my new favorite ever. perfect voices and a kick ass Toni. Perfect I say! Thank you so much. off to read the rest of the new posts now.

  10. I don’t have word for how much I love all your stories. Tony/Toni is the best and I adore all of your worlds and characters.

  11. So happy that you continue the SGA/NCIS crossover. I’m loving your Toni (in every story).

  12. Just read all of these lovely tidbits. That Star Trek / Stargate story is inspired. I was knocked out by how cool that was.
    Thank you for sharing your genius

  13. I love all three stories of this year’s EAD, but The Raven and the Wolf has a special place in my heart. It was one of my favorites on Roughtrade and it’s even better now that I can read it again, not to mention there are more chapters to enjoy. I was so thrilled to see it here! Thank you for sharing!

  14. I was waiting for my computer at work to load and thought I’d check to see if you had any updates…which was a mistake because I spent the next hour and a half reading the 2019 Evil author day posts. Loved them all!!!

  15. Thank you so much for putting out Raven and the Wolf. I loved it on Rough Trade, and I was excited to see it here for EAD. How exciting to find a lot more story waiting! I love your Girl Harry. Really, the whole story is brilliant. It made my day yesterday to have something so lovely and intricate and long to read. Now I shall have to stalk in the hope that someday I will stop by and there will be more. I always love a good Death to Walburga moment.

  16. Thank you. I am so in love with your Harry Potter fairy tale.
    I’m glad you’re doing a bit better, I occasionally checked you were still bookmarking things on AO3 after you disappeared to make sure you were ok.

  17. First of all, thank you for sharing this amazing stories (especially Harry Potter and MCU and Criminal minds fandoms, which I’m the most in love with).
    I absolutely love your female Harry, and yes, I mean in both “The past is my future” and “The raven and the wolf”.
    Sorry for any mistakes in the comment and hoping to read something soon (I will just suffer in the uncertainty and check compulsively in search for any updates), Nuria.

  18. So I’ve completely surrendered to the lovely little appetizers that are EAD. At least, I thought I had until I found your lovely fairytale with the mother of all cliffhangers. You’ll be pleased to know that I was so in the story that I completely forgot the rules and actually screamed out loud at the cliffy scaring my kids and followed that up with some pretty impressive ranting and swearing. Then I remembered the rules and was so impressed by now far gone I was I thought I should let you know. Amazing story, really love it, obviously.

  19. I love your offerings for 2020. I don’t even have a favourite, I love it all! Thank you!

  20. I’m almost done with reading your “First Causalty” EAD, and, dear god, it is pure gold. It’s so fantastic, I am stunned, and I don’t even usually like reading WIPs. Great work!

  21. I’m engaging in my annual bout of reader masochism and wallowing in everyone’s EAD entries. 🤩. Thanks for sharing yours! You know how much I love your ‘verses but 10 Year Plan rocked my world.

    \o/

  22. found Segrefound Segreti rying to track down a female Dinozzo/AJ Chegwidden that I could clearly remember parts if, but wasn’t coming up anywhere I searched. I finally found Segrefound Segreti

  23. Oh. MY. GOSH. First Casualty. THE. BEST. I’ve read it about seven times and I’m not sick of it. Never will be. Also? You got me into reading NCIS fanfic. Even though I stopped watching NCIS early on because I hated how Tony was treated. This is PERFECTION and I will fight anyone who says otherwise. THE END.

  24. I enjoy all your stuff! Strong women, strong plots, I circle back to your site when nothing else appeals. Thank you for sharing with us mere mortals who can only write dry reports! I love snarky characters with heart! You do them so well!

  25. I know you have no plans to post these wonderful/terrible teasers anywhere but here on your personal site, but do you have any recommendation for how we can save our favorites without losing a couple lines at every pagebreak (and sometimes one of several images)? I was just rereading Yesterday’s Tomorrow in my PDF, and it was frustrating. I’m not sure I’ve tried saving as HTML yet (on my laptop, where that’s an option), so I’ll see how that goes, but my tablet’s Silk browser really does not like printing with floating headers/footers.

Leave a comment